Sunday, 7 November 2010

nyc marathon results 2010

nyc marathon results 2010

Today sees the New York Marathon take place and also the possible feat of Meb Keflezighi trying to become the first American man to win 2 Marathons in a row since Alberto Salazar who achieved the title in 1982. The race today will be seen as the biggest marathon in the world and it began at 8:30am ET this morning, with the wheelchair division and the professional women and men starting time at 9:10 am ET and 9:40 am ET, respectively.

The route of the marathon race course will begin at the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge with the first of five bridges runners will cross winds through Brooklyn, briefly passes through Queens, crosses into Manhattan (and down the thunderous First Avenue), dips a toe in the Bronx before coming back to Manhattan and turning into Central Park, where it finishes, 26.2 miles later. Based on the last record, Keflezighi won the last year with the time 2:09:15 while the Ethiopia’s Derartu Tulu won the women’s division with finishing time of 2:28:52. Furthermore, the winner from each division will receive $130,000 (it’s bumped up to $200,000 if they are a repeat winner) while the second place earns $65,000 and third gets $40,000 respectively.

So plenty at stake for the runners and competitors in today's record breaking run in the big apple.

If you like this blog please click below. Thanks.
Top Blogs